A Pirate’s First Birthday

This post is long overdue seeing as this party occurred in July!! Ooops! Better late than never though right? My son, Preston, has been nicknamed “Preston the Pirate” since before he was born when I decided upon a pirate themed nursery…so, it was only fitting to make his first birthday party pirate themed as well.

I spent months working out the details for this party! (I’m kind of obsessed with planning and throwing parties!) Many nights I would be trying to fall asleep when a new idea would pop in my head and I would have to write it down right then…and sometimes I would even get out of bed, open the laptop and update the spreadsheet I created for the party. Yes, I did say spreadsheet! I’m a bit of an organized nut so I make spreadsheets for each party I plan with guest lists, decoration lists, food lists…basically anything I can make a list for I do!

Well, before y’all think I’m totally crazy, let’s get to the photos from the party…

I created a banner using ribbon, scrapbook paper and this Martha Stewart letter template.

Using styrofoam, some cute fabric, dowel sticks and laundry pins I created a photo display of each month of Preston’s first year.

The food table was so much fun creating! I’m in love with burlap at the moment and it’s very “piratey” in my opinion so I used it as the tablecloth. I created another banner that says “Ye Grub Station” and hung tons of ribbons from the chandelier. You can see the pirate flag and the pirate ship make up the centerpiece. Gold coins and necklaces were the treasure scattered throughout the table.

Cake pops are pretty time consuming to make but I think they really added an extra touch to the party.

I opted for cupcakes instead of doing a smash cake and regular birthday cake.

S’more kabobs…as you can see, I labeled all the food with silly little names to add more fun.

Fruit kabobs

Sausage Balls

Pigs ‘n a Blanket

Carrots and Celery with Ranch

Other food items included caramel popcorn, goldfish and fruit snacks.

Sweet tea and lemonade was served and guests could choose a mason jar to drink from. I created labels that they could write their name on.

I created a “Preston” banner for his chair and attached a balloon bouquet.

The favors were pirate rubber duckies, pirate tattoos and necklaces.

It was such a fun first birthday party to plan! He’s already almost 15 months, almost time to start planning birthday party number two…just kidding, kinda!

Don’t have the time or would rather hand off the duty of planning your child’s birthday party to someone else? Contact me for a free consultation. I serve the Metro Atlanta and Northeast Atlanta areas and would love to help!

Need help with a bridal or baby shower? Or maybe a milestone birthday party or anniversary party? I can help you plan those events too!

You can reach me at AnneRains@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “A Pirate’s First Birthday

  1. Pingback: Decor Inspiration: Pirate Themed Nursery «

Leave a Reply

