S’mores Cookie Bars

I’m a huge fan of all things S’mores! I’ve always loved them since my early Girl Scout camping days but they became even more meaningful to me on the night my hubby proposed. We got engaged at the Ritz Carlton at Lake Oconee while having a romantic chiminea dinner at sunset by the lake. Because of the fire in the chiminea, there was a place to roast marshmallows so the dessert was s’mores.

Ever since then I’m always on the lookout for various types of s’mores treats. We even had a s’mores bar at our wedding! The caterer made this deliciously yummy bite-sized s’mores that were adorable. Here’s a picture of those:

Aren’t they too cute?! And lucky me, my s’mores obsession is being fed through my current Pinterest obsession as well! There are TONS of recipes from s’mores martinis, to s’mores inside of a cookies to s’mores pies and cakes that I’m just dying to try. One day I’ll get around to all of them.

I started with the S’mores Cookie Bars recipe. Let me just tell you, these are FABULOUS! I made them for my monthly Supper Club and did not come home with leftovers. They are so delicious served up warm because that’s when the magic happens: the marshmallow and chocolate are all gooey inside, but the outside is a perfectly soft, wonderfully delicious graham cracker cookie. You’ve really got to try them; you WON’T be let down!

Now here’s what you’ll need and how to make this little piece of heaven:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 C. butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 C. brown sugar
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/3 C. all purpose flour
  • 3/4 C. graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 king-sized milk chocolate bars
  • 1 1/2 C. marshmallow creme/fluff

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350F. Grease an 8-inch square baking pan
  2. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light. Beat in egg and vanilla. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder and salt. Add to butter mixture and mix at a low speed until combined.
  3. Divide dough in half and press half of dough into an even layer on the bottom of the prepared pan. Place chocolate bars over dough. 2 King-sized bars should fit perfectly side by side, but break the chocolate (if necessary) to get a single layer. Spread marshmallow creme over chocolate. Place remaining dough in a single layer on top of the fluff (most easily achieved by flattening the dough into small shingles and laying them together).
  4. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool completely before cutting into bars. (They are delicious warmed up in the microwave for 20 seconds or so to achieve the gooey center!)

Makes 16 cookie bars.

Try these! They won’t disappoint!

As I said before, I found these on Pinterest…the original blog post containing the recipe is HERE. Visit that blog sometime if you enjoy desserts as much as I do, there are lots of good recipes there!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

No time to bake, but want some yummy treats? Contact me because I love to bake! AnneRains@Gmail.com

One thought on “S’mores Cookie Bars

Leave a Reply

