Shabby Chic Baby Girl Shower

I realized today that I haven’t written a post since sometime in March!…it’s July! Spring and summer just seems to be such a busy time of the year. Although I’m leaving to go to the beach tomorrow and should be packing, I thought I’d do a post about the Shabby Chic Baby Girl Shower that I did in April…or was it May? I can’t remember!

This was such a fun shower to throw and gave me the perfect excuse to go antiquing for more milk glass! I LOVE milk glass and buy it whenever I find it. What about you? Do you have anything vintage that you collect?

For this shower I chose a color scheme of mostly pink and green and other gorgeous pastels. I made a wreath for the door and gave it to the mother-to-be to put on her front door when baby Brooklyn arrived. The letter “B” is just a wooden letter that I painted pink and sprinkled glitter on for a little bling.

I found the most perfect fabric at Hobby Lobby; it was a pack of 5 different fabrics that color coordinated but weren’t too “matchy-matchy”–I used them throughout the party and they really added to the shabby chic feeling I think. The pendants were cut out and glued on twine. The letters were stenciled on with brown paint. Overall I was pleased with how it turned out.

The baby’s nursery is decorated in pink and green owls so I was super excited when I found this cute owl box. At the shower I asked everyone to write a note to baby Brooklyn and put it in the box.

To decorate the room where the food was I made a garland out of strips of fabric; I simply tied them on and then added a little pink tutu and a couple of bibs.

The shower was a brunch so I served Preggo Mimosas which was just a mixture of orange juice and Sprite and in the South you simply can’t have a party without sweet tea!

I thought it would be darling for us to drink out of old fashioned milk bottles but I didn’t want to spend $4 per bottle…so I drank a bunch of Starbucks Frappuccinos (hmmm, is that spelled right?!) and used Goo Gone to get off the label. Then I tied a bit of lace and some twine around them and added a pink straw. So cute, cheap and reusable for another time too!

The menu for this brunch was inspired by Paula Deen. Most of the recipes were from her book, Paul Deen and Friends. I served Praline French Toast casserole, Garlic Cheese Grits casserole, Broiled Parmesan Tomatoes, Sausage Balls with Mustard Dip, Frozen Fruit Cups and a Doughnut Cake.

All of those items are yummy but you’ve just GOT to make the Praline French Toast–it’s amazing! Here’s a link to the recipe. I mean just look at it!

The Frozen Fruit Cups were served on cute little milk glass plates–so excited when I found a set of 5 of these pretties at Queen of Hearts antique store in Buford.

I added pink frosting and sparkly sprinkles to the dozen Krispy Kremes. What could be better than doughnuts with icing on them?

I made a mini version of the fireplace banner as a cake topper and used cute stickers to spell out the name.

Other elements that I feel added to the “shabby chicness” of the party was the burlap table runner and the “Plain & Simple” caddy I had the silverware in.

The favors were simple lollipops; typically I make cake pops as favors for parties but I was a little short on time so I purchased this kit at Party City.

This really was such a fun party to throw. Party planning and cooking are my passions so if you need help with the next shower or party that you’re hosting, please contact me as I would be happy to help. Of course, this only applies to the Greater Atlanta, Georgia area. Simply email me at AnneRains@gmail.com

Have a blessed day!

2 thoughts on “Shabby Chic Baby Girl Shower

Leave a Reply

